A mixed- media collage on canvas-board. I found the above quote in an advert, snipped it and created the collage/painting around it. This is number one in a series of four similarly created pieces. The backgrounds are all created in the same way. With a specific colourway in mind, I tore small pieces from thick pages of magazines…the paper has to be fairly heavy-duty as it has to withstand sanding. The torn pieces are applied in strips, patterned to achieve the required effect. The whole is then sanded and then over-painted. The building-up of the collage can then be done once the background is completely dry. The face on this one was also sanded and lightly painted as I wanted to achieve an opaque feel. This one was the first I created and I liked it so much it is on my wall!

